College of Science

The College of Science brings together globally prominent faculty in disciplines at the core of scientific inquiry and education. One of the largest colleges at the University of Arizona, the College of Science is a nexus of award-winning programs and centers that encourage both independent and collaborative-driven research.

Our 15 academic departments and research units encompass the range of physical, mathematical, environmental and life sciences. We are an integrative learning institution, offering next-generation scientists the opportunity to engage in groundbreaking research side-by-side with accomplished faculty. Our scientists and students also share their knowledge with the local and broader community through extensive outreach and public service initiatives.

Interim Dean: Elliott Cheu

College Features

  • Renowned faculty includes: 2 Nobel laureates, 13 National Academy of Sciences members, 8 American Academy of Arts and Sciences members, 3 MacArthur Fellows, 9 Guggenheim Fellows, 10 UA Distinguished Professors, 40 UA Regents’ Professors
  • Nearly two-thirds of undergraduate students in the College of Science participate in independent research projects mentored by our distinguished faculty.

College Statistics

  • Number of Undergraduate Students: 5,300
  • Number of Graduate Students: 975
  • Number of Faculty: 348
  • Number of Alumni: 27,325

Degrees Awarded:

  • Bachelor of Arts (B.A.)
  • Bachelor of Science (B.S.)
  • Bachelor of Science in Science Education (B.S.C.)
  • Master of Arts (M.A.)
  • Master of Science (M.S.)
  • Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.)


Website: Primary Address:
The University of Arizona
P.O. Box 210077
Tucson, AZ 85721-0077
United States
Mailing Address:
1040 E. Fourth Street
Gould-Simpson Building, Room 1025
Tucson, AZ 85721
United States
Phone Number:

(520) 621-4090

(520) 621-8389