James E. Rogers College of Law

Founded in 1915 as the first law school in Arizona, the James E. Rogers College of Law is a national leader in legal education, research and scholarship. The College of Law has an outstanding academic program to prepare lawyers for leadership and service throughout the state, the country and the world. Its core values — justice, professional integrity, public leadership and community service — impact all of its programs, activities and decisions. The college is small by choice, with approximately 150 students in each entering class and a total student body of about 500. The college's size and varied curriculum permit small classes and close interaction between students and faculty.<--break->

Dean: Marc L. Miller

College Features

  • The small but diverse student body is drawn from the top 15% of the national applicant pool.
  • In addition to a rigorous core curriculum, Arizona Law advances legal scholarship and practice in distinctive, multi-dimensional programs, including the Indigenous Peoples Law & Policy, the Program in Criminal Law and Policy, the International Trade Law Program, and the Environmental Law, Science, and Policy Program.
  • A an award winning trial advocacy program, a menu clinical opportunities, and a highly successful clerkship/externship program offer students opportunities to pursue work across the nation and even internationally.
  • Arizona Law is noted for its collegial community and the strength of its student organizations.
  • The Rehnquist Center draws some of the nation’s top jurists to the College each year.

College Statistics

  • J.D. enrollment: 450
  • Postgraduate enrollment (LLM and SJD programs): 25

Degrees awarded:

  • J.D. (Juris Doctor)
  • (concentration certificates in International Trade Law or Criminal Law & Policy)
  • J.D./Ph.D. in Philosophy, Psychology, or Economics
  • J.D./M.A. in American Indian Studies, Latin American Studies, Women’s Studies or Information Resources and Library Science\
  • J.D./M.B.A.
  • J.D./M.P.A.
  • J.D./M.M.F. (Finance)
  • J.D./M.S. (Economics, Law and the Environment)
  • LL.M. (Master of Laws in International Trade)
  • LL.M. (Master of Laws in Indigenous Peoples Law & Policy)
  • S.J.D. (Doctor of Juridical Science, International Trade Law)
  • S.J.D. (Doctor of Juridical Science, Indigenous Peoples Law & Policy)
Website: Primary Address:
The University of Arizona
P.O. Box 210176
Tucson, AZ 85721-0176
United States
Mailing Address:
1201 E. Speedway
Tucson, AZ 85721
United States
Email: Phone Number:
(520) 621-1373
(520) 626-6444